Lao Da

Hey Lao Da,
I saw this prompt about imaginary friends, and I wanna know, are you my imaginary friend?

Hey Michelle. That’s a good question. Do you think I’m your imaginary friend? 

I don’t know. I don’t really know what it means to be “imaginary”. You certainly are real to me… and you certainly are my friend.
But, I don’t know what you look like, I’ve never seen you, I don’t know what your voice sounds like, what your hobbies are… I don’t know anything about you actually, other than that you always listen to me and give me advice.
What are you actually like? Do you like fishing? Do you drink beer? What are your hobbies?

What do you think?

Well, I’ve always pictured you to be this really tall big guy, a little meaty, with a beard, and maybe, sometimes you’d wear a baseball cap and sunglasses.

Sort of like this picture.

Hahaha, that looks like some shady creep! Why am I so hairy? Why am I wearing sunglasses for no reason?

I dunno, you’re just mysterious like that, you probably don’t wanna show your eyes to just anyone.

You also probably like to drink cheap Tim Horton’s coffee, and you like beer and fishing in moderation.

Okay, that’s fine by me. I actually quite enjoy all of these things you mentioned.
Out of topic but, how’d you do today, regarding the boy trouble?

Not good. I ruminated about it all day. I hardly slept last night. Tried a breathing exercise where you just breath in and out and focus on your inner body like Eckhart Tolle suggested in the book The Power of Now. But instead of feeling at peace or falling asleep like calm sensible being, I just felt like I was really good at ruminating and breathing at the same time.
Too tired to deal with situation now, going to sleep for a bit. Will talk when I wake up!

Lao Da

Leave a Reply

